The Executive

The Executive carries out functions that are not the responsibility of any other part of the council.

After the leader and deputy leader have been appointed by council, they appoint members who are allocated certain areas of responsibility, known as a portfolio.

Our executive is made up of seven councillors.

Executive members

Cllr Nigel Ashton – Leader of the Council


  • budgets
  • Local Enterprise Partnership and North Somerset Partnership
  • joint executive committee (West of England Combined Authority and North Somerset Council)
  • forward programme
  • business management
  • Weston urban extension

Cllr Elfan Ap Rees – Deputy Leader of the Council


  • planning (excluding Weston urban extension)
  • highways
  • transport
  • housing
  • economic development

Cllr Felicity Baker


  • community
  • tourism and leisure
  • licensing
  • corporate communications
  • electoral services
  • libraries

Cllr Peter Bryant


  • waste and recycling
  • environmental protection
  • pollution
  • marine environment
  • parks and green spaces
  • building control

Cllr Jan Barber


  • children and young people’s services

Cllr David Pasley


  • human resources
  • asset management
  • capital programme
  • transformation programme

Cllr Dawn Payne


  • adult social services

Assistant executive members

Cllr Jill Iles

  • responsible for public health services

Cllr Lisa Pilgrim

  • responsible for looked-after children’s services