Home > Education > Schools > School holidays and term dates

School holidays and term dates

These are the school holiday and term dates for schools in North Somerset.

School calendar

The school year is based on a calendar of 195 days with five days used for staff training, also known as in service days, meaning schools will be open for the legal minimum of 190 days or 380 sessions. Find out when schools have planned to close for inset days by downloading our school closure list (pdf).

Academic year 2015-16, starting 2 September 2015

  • term 1: Wednesday 2 September 2015 to Friday 23 October 2015
  • term 2: Monday 2 November 2015 to Friday 18 December 2015
  • term 3: Monday 4 January 2016 to Friday 12 February 2016
  • term 4: Monday 22 February 2016 to Friday 1 April 2016
  • term 5: Monday 18 April 2016 to Friday 27 May 2016
  • term 6: Monday 6 June to Friday 22 July 2016

Download our term dates 2015-16 (pdf)

Academic year 2016-17, starting 1 September 2016

  • term 1: Thursday 1 September 2016 to Friday 21 October 2016
  • term 2: Monday 31 October 2016 to Friday 16 December 2016
  • term 3: Tuesday 3 January 2017 to Friday 10 February 2017
  • term 4: Monday 20 February 2017 to Friday 7 April 2017
  • term 5: Monday 24 April 2017 to Friday 26 May 2017
  • term 6: Monday 5 June 2017 to Friday 21 July 2017

Download our term dates 2016-17 (pdf)

Public holiday closures

Schools will be closed during:

2015-16

  • 25 December 2015: Christmas Day
  • 28 December 2015: Boxing Day Bank Holiday
  • 1 January 2016: New Year's Day Holiday
  • 25 March 2016: Good Friday
  • 28 March 2016: Easter Monday
  • 2 May 2016: May Bank Holiday
  • 30 May 2016: Spring Bank Holiday
  • 29 August 2016: Summer Bank Holiday

2016-17

  • 25 December 2016: Christmas Day
  • 26 December 2016: Boxing Day
  • 27 December 2016: Subsitute day (for Christmas Day)
  • 1 January 2017: New Year's Day Holiday
  • 2 January 2017: Subsitute day (for New Year's Day)
  • 14 April 2017: Good Friday
  • 17 April 2017: Easter Monday
  • 1 May 2017: May Bank Holiday
  • 29 May 2017: Spring Bank Holiday
  • 28 August 2017: Summer Bank Holiday

Foundation, trust, academy and voluntary aided schools set their own term dates but are encouraged to follow this model.